The History of England

from Celts through 20th century

Life at College and University

Category: Educational System

The  Oldest  Universities.  University  Degrees.  Redbrick  Universities.  Polytechnics.  Colleges  of  Education.  Further  Education  Colleges.  The  Open  University

The  academic  year  in Britain’s  universities,  Polytechnics,  Colle­ges  of  Education  is  divided  into  three  terms,  which  usually  run  from  the  beginning  of  October  to  the  middle  of  December,  from  the  middle  of  January  to  the  end  of  March,  and  from  the  middle  of  April  to  the  end  of  June  or  the  beginning  of  July.

There  are  46  universities  in Britain.  The  oldest  and  best-known  uni­versities  are  located  in Oxford, Cambridge, London,  Leeds, Manche­ster,  Liverpool, Edinburgh,  Southampton, Cardiff, Bristol, Birming­ham.

Good  А-level  results  in  at  least  two  subjects  are  necessary  to  get  a  place  at  a  university.  However,  good  exam  passes  alone  are  not  enough.  Universities  choose  their  students  after  interviews.  For  all  British  citizens  a  place  at  a  university  brings  with  it  a  grant  from  their  local  education  authority.

English  universities  greatly  differ  from  each  other.  They  differ  in  date  of  foundation,  size,  history,  tradition,  general  organization,  methods  of  instruction,  way  of  student  life.

After  three  years  of  study  a  university  graduate  will  leave  with  the  Degree  of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  Science,  Engineering,  Medicine,  etc.  Lat­er  he  may  continue  to  take  the  Master’s  Degree  and  then  the  Doctor’s  Degree.  Research  is  an  important  feature  of  university  work.

The  two  intellectual  eyes  of  Britain  —  Oxford  and  Cambridge  Uni­versities  —  date  from  the  twelfth  and  thirteenth  centuries.

The  Scottish  universities  of  St.  Andrews, Glasgow,  Aberdeen  and  Edinburgh  date  from  the  fifteenth  and  sixteenth  centuries.

In  the  nineteenth  and  the  early  part  of  the  twentieth  centuries  the  so-called  Redbrick  universities  were  founded.  These  include London, Manchester,  Leeds,  Liverpool,  Sheffield,  and Birmingham.  During  the  late  sixties  and  early  seventies  some  20  “new”  universities  were  set  up.  Sometimes  they  are  called  “concrete  and  glass”  universities.  Among  them  are  the  universities  of Sussex, York,  East  Anglia  and  some  others.

During  these  years  the  Government  set  up  thirty  Polytechnics.  The  Polytechnics,  like  the  universities,  offer  first  and  higher  degrees.  Some  of  them  offer  full-time  and  sandwich  courses.  Colleges  of  Education  provide  two-year  courses  in  teacher  education  or  sometimes  three  years  if  the  graduate  specializes  in  some  particular  subject.

Some  of  those  who  decide  to  leave  school  at  the  age  of  16  may  go  to  a  further  education  college  where  they  can  follow  a  course  in  typing,  engineering,  town  planning,  cooking,  or  hairdressing,  full-time  or  part-  time.  Further  education  colleges  have  strong  ties  with  commerce  and  industry.

There  is  an  interesting  form  of  studies  which  is  called  the  Open  Uni­versity.  It  is  intended  for  people  who  study  in  their  own  free  time  and  who  “attend”  lectures  by  watching  television  and  listening  to  the  radio.  They  keep  in  touch  by  phone  and  letter  with  their  tutors  and  attend  summer  schools.  The  Open  University  students  have  no  formal  qualifi­cations  and  would  be  unable  to  enter  ordinary  universities.

Some  80,000  overseas  students  study  at  British  universities  or  fur­ther  education  colleges  or  train  in  nursing,  law,  banking  or  in  industry.

« ||| »

samurai master casino slot game bonus

Comments are closed.