The History of England

from Celts through 20th century


Category: Education

Primary  education  includes  three  age  ranges:  nursery  forchildren  under  five  years,  infants  from  five  to  seven  or  eight,  and  juniors  from  seven  or  eight  to  eleven  or  twelve  years.  Attendance  is  voluntary,  but  much  sought  after,  for  children  under  five.  They  may  attend  one  of  the  rare  publicly  maintained  nursery  schools,  an  independent  nursery  school,  a  pre-school  play-group,  or,  increas­ingly,  a  nursery  class  attached  to  a  primary  school.

There  are  23,000  public  sector  primary  schools.  In  January  1970  they  had  4.9  million  pupils.  Nearly  all  these  schools  were  for  boys  and  girls  together.  About  half  had  100  pupils  or  less.  Maximum’  class  sizes  as  laid  down  by  the  Secretary  of  State  are  30  for  nursery  schools  and  40  for  infant  and  junior  classes.

Middle  schools  are  now  being  set  up  by  a  number  of  authori­ties  to  span  the  gap  between  primary  education,  which  is  largely  pupil-centred,  and  secondary  education,  which  has  traditionally  been  subject-centred.  There  were  136  in  1970.  These  schools  for  pupils  aged  eight  to  twelve  are  regarded  as  primary  schools  for  statistical  purposes,  those  for  pupils  aged  ten  to  thirteen  are  regarded  as  secondary  schools,  and  those  for  pupils  aged  nine  to  thirteen  may  be  either,  at  the  local  education  authority’  choice.

« ||| »

Comments are closed.