The History of England

from Celts through 20th century


Category: Land + People

By  John  A.  Williamson

Glamorgan  takes  its  name  from  an  ancient  prince  who  took  shelter  there  from  his  hostile  brother.  In  those  far-  off  days  there  was  no  need  to  think  of  planting  trees,  for  the  whole  land  was  practically  covered  with  wood  land.

Many  centuries  have  passed  since  then  and  the  woodlands  alas  have  largely  vanished  with  them.  Man  has  looked  to  the  forests  for  land  for  his  flocks  and  his  crops,  for  fuel  for  his  fire,  for  timber  for  his  homesteads,  and,  most  devas­tating  of  all,  for  wood  for  industrial  uses,  charcoal  for  smel­ting  and  pit-props  for  the  mines.  From  the  middle  of  eight­eenth  century  industrial  development  has  been  so  rapid  in  Glamorgan  that  today  one-third  of  the  surface  is  covered  with  its  results,  results  which  are  the  reverse  of  picturesque.

But  industrial  development  was  not  the  only  reason  for  the  felling  —  two  World  wars  continued  to  cause  havoc  in  the  remaining  woods,  changing  well-wooded  valleys  into  forest  deserts,  inviting  the  elements  to  destructive  erosion  —  which  carried  the  already  thin  poor  soils  into  the  streams,  the  rivers,  and  eventually  the  sea.  A  grim  picture  indeed  but  a  true  one,  brightened  only  by  the  replanting  work  of  the  more  enlightened  estates  where  the  new  woodlands  made  a  brave  and  hopeful  showing  against  the  prevailing  sylvi­cultural  desolation.

Tree  growing  is  a  long-time  business  and  it  is  many  years  before  the  new  plantations  begin  to  bring  new  beauty  to  the  landscape.

The  Forestry  Commission  started  planting  Glamorgan  in  1921.  Now  after  forty  years  of  continuous  planting  many  of  the  hill  forests  are  replacing  the  rather  bold  and  sterile  appearance  of  the  hill  waste  lands  with  a  dappled  green  glory.

From  Glamorgan  Forests,  edi­ted  by  H.  L.  Edlin  B.  Sc., London,  1961.

« ||| »

Tagged as:

Comments are closed.