The History of England

from Celts through 20th century


Category: Politics

Hereditary  Peers:  Dukes  (31),  Marquesses  (38),  Earls  (175),  Vis­counts  (116),  Barons  (490),  Peeresses  in  their  own  right  (19).

Life  Peers  (142),  Life  Peeresses  (19).  Archbishops  (2),  Senior  Bishops  (24).

The  figures  given  above  are  as  they  were  in  1970.  Life  peers  (Lords)  and  peeresses  receive  their  peerages  as  a  reward  for  service,  and  their  children  do  not  inherit  the  title.  Peers  may  not  sit  in  the  House  of  Commons  as  MPs,  but  in  1963  the  Peerage  Act  made  it  possible  for  peers  to  give  up  their  peerages.  For  example,  in  1963,  the  Earl  of  Home  was  chosen  by  the  Conservative  Party  to  be  prime  minister.  It  would  have  been  difficult  for  a  prime  minister  to  sit  in  the  House  of  Lords,  and  so  the  Earl  gave  up  his  title  and  was  elected  to  the  House  of  Commons  as  Sir  Alec  Douglas-Home.

(From Britain  Today  by  R.  Musman)

« ||| »

Comments are closed.