The History of England

from Celts through 20th century

The British Monarchy Today

Category: Politics

The  Monarch  and  His  Powers.  The  Formation  of  the  Commonwealth.  The  Queen  —  the  Head  of  the  Commonwealth.  Parliament  and  the  Monarch

The United  Kingdom  is  a  constitutional  monarchy.  This  means  that  it  has  a  monarch  (a  king  or  a  queen)  as  its  Head  of  State.  The  mon­arch  reigns  with  the  support  of  Parliament.  The  powers  of  the  monarch  are  not  defined  precisely.  Everything  today  is  done  in  the  Queen’s  name.  It  is  her  government,  her  armed  forces,  her  law  courts  and  so  on.  She  appoints  all  the  Ministers,  including  the  Prime  Minister.  Every­thing  is  done  however  on  the  advice  of  the  elected  Government,  and  the  monarch  takes  no  part  in  the  decision-making  process.

Once  the  British  Empire  included  a  large  number  of  countries  all  over  the  world  ruled  by Britain.  The  process  of  decolonisation  began  in  1947  with  the  independence  of  India,  Pakistan  and Ceylon.  Now,  apart  from  Hong  Kong  and  a  few  small  islands,  there  is  no  longer  an  empire.  But  the  British  ruling  classes  tried  not  to  lose  influence  over  the  former  colonies  of  the  British  Empire.  An  association  of  former  members  of  the  British  Empire  and  Britain  was  founded  in  1949.  It  is  called  the  Commonwealth.  It  includes  many  countries  such  as Ireland, Burma,  the Sudan, Canada, Australia,  New  Zealand  and  others.  The  Queen  of  Great  Britain  is  also  the  Head  of  the  Commonwealth,  and  so  the  Queen  of Canada, Australia,  New  Zealand…

The  Queen  is  very  rich  as  are  other  members  of  the  royal  family.  In  addition,  the  government  pays  for  her  expenses  as  Head  of  State,  for  a  royal  yacht,  train  and  aircraft  as  well  as  for  the  upkeep  of  several  pal­aces.  The  Queen’s  image  appears  on  stamps,  notes  and  coins.

Parliament  consists  of  two  chambers  known  as  the  House  of  Commons  and  the  House  of  Lords.  Parliament  and  the  monarch  have  different  roles  in  the  government  of  the  country,  and  they  only  meet  together  on  symbolic  occasions  such  as  coronation  of  a  new  mon­arch  or  the  opening  of  Parliament.  In  reality,  the  House  of  Commons  is  the  only  one  of  the  three  which  is  true  power.  It  is  here  that  new  bills  are  introduced  and  debated.  If  the  majority  of  the  members  are  not  in  favour  of  a  bill  it  goes  to  the  House  of  Lords  to  be  debated  and  finally  to  the  monarch  to  be  signed.  Only  then  it  becomes  law.  Although  a  bill  must  be  supported  by  all  three  bodies,  the  House  of  Lords  only  has  lim­ited  powers,  and  the  monarch  has  not  refused  to  sign  one  since  the  modern  political  system  began  over  200  years  ago.

« ||| »

Comments are closed.