The History of England

from Celts through 20th century

The British Parliament and the Electoral System

Category: Politics

The  Law-Making  House  of  Parliament.  MPs.  Candidates  in  Elections.  Cabinet  of  Ministers.  “Shadow  Cabinet”

The  British  Parliament  consists  of  the  House  of  Lords  and  the  House  of  Commons  and  the  Queen  as  its  head.

The  House  of  Commons  plays  the  major  role  in  law-making.  It  consists  of  Members  of  Parliament  (called  MPs  for  short),  each  of  whom  represents  an  area  in England, Scotland,  Wales  or  Northern  Ire­land.  MPs  are  elected  either  at  a  general  election,  or  at  a  by-election  following  the  death  or  retirement  of  an  MP.

Parliamentary  elections  must  be  held  every  five  years,  but  the  Prime  Minister  can  decide  on  the  exact  date  within  those  five  years.  The  mini­mum  voting  age  is  18,  and  the  voting  is  taken  by  secret  ballot.

The  election  campaign  lasts  about  three  weeks.  The  election  is  decided  on  a  simple  majority—the  candidate  with  the  most  votes  wins.  An  MP  who  wins  by  a  small  number  of  votes  may  have  more  votes  against  him  (that  is,  for  the  other  candidates)  than  for  him.  Many  people  think  that  it  is  unfair  because  the  wishes  of  those  who  voted  for  the  unsuccessful  candidates  are  not  represented  at  all.  The  British  parliamentary  system  depends  on  political  parties.  The  political  parties  choose  candidates  in  elections.  The  party  which  wins  the  majority  of  seats  forms  the  Gov­ernment  and  its  leader  usually  becomes  Prime  Minister.  The  Prime  Mi­nister  chooses  about  20  MPs  from  his  or  her  party  to  become  the  Cabi­net  of  Ministers.  Each  minister  is  responsible  for  a  particular  area  of  the  government.  The  second  largest  party  becomes  the  official  opposi­tion  with  its  own  leader  and  “Shadow  cabinet”.  Leader  of  the  opposi­tion  is  a  recognized  post  in  the  House  of  Commons.

The  House  of  Commons

“Front-Benchers”  and  “Back-Benchers”.  MPs  Address  the  House.  3  Stages  of  a  Bill.  A  Bill  Becomes  an  Act  of  Parliament.  The  Decisive  Political  and  Economic  Power

The  House  of  Commons  is  made  up  of  650  elected  members,  known  as  Members  of  Parliament  (MPs).  The  House  of  Commons  is  presided  over  by  the  Speaker,  a  member  acceptable  to  the  whole  House.  MPs  sit  on  two  sides  of  the  hall,  one  side  for  the  governing  party  and  the  other  for  the  opposition.  The  first  two  rows  of  seats  are  occupied  by  the  leading  members  of  both  parties  (called  “front­benchers”),  the  back  benches  belong  to  the  rank-and-file  MPs  (“back­benchers”).  Each  session  of  the  House  of  Commons  lasts  for  160—  175  days.  Parliament  has  intervals  during  its  work.  MPs  are  paid  for  their  parliamentary  work  and  have  to  attend  the  sittings.  MPs  have  to  catch  the  Speaker’s  eye  when  they  want  to  speak,  then  they  rise  from  where  they  have  been  sitting  to  address  the  House  and  must  do  so  with­out  either  reading  a  prepared  speech  or  consulting  notes.

Although  there  is  some  space  given  to  other  than  government  pro­posals,  the  lion’s  share  of  parliamentary  time  is  taken  by  the  party  in  power.  A  proposed  law,  a  bill  has  to  go  through  three  stages  in  order  to  become  an  Act  of  Parliament.  These  are  called  readings.  The  first  reading  is  a  formality  and  is  simply  the  publication  of  the  proposal.  The  sec­ond  reading  involves  debate  on  the  principles  of  the  bill,  its  examina­tion  by  a  parliamentary  committee,  and  the  third  reading—a  report  stage,  when  the  work  of  the  committee  is  reported  on  to  the  House.  This  is  usually  the  most  important  stage  in  the  process.  The  third  read­ing  is  often  a  formality  too;  if  six  members  table  a  motion,  then  there  has  to  be  a  debate  on  the  third  reading.  If  the  majority  of  MPs  still  votes  for  the  bill,  it  is  sent  to  the  House  of  Lords  for  discussion.  When  the  Lords  agree,  the  bill  is  taken  to  the  Queen  for  Royal  assent.  All  bills  must  pass  through  both  houses  before  being  sent  for  signature  by  the  Queen,  when  they  become  Acts  of  Parliament  and  the  Law  of  the  Land.

The  House  of  Lords

Members  of  the  Upper  House  Are  Not  Elected.  The  Woolsack.  The  Lords’  Main  Power

The  other  House  of  the  Parliament  is  the  House  of  Lords.  The  House  of  Lords  has  more  than  1,000  members,  although  only  about  250  take  an  active  part  in  the  work  of  the  House.  This  House  consists  of  those  lords  who  sit  by  right  of  inheritance  and  those  men  and  women  who  have  been  given  life  peerages  which  end  with  the  life  of  their  possessors.  Members  of  this  Upper  House  are  not  elected.  They  sit  there  because  of  their  rank.  The  chairman  of  the  House  of  Lords  is  the  Lord  Chancellor  and  he  sits  on  a  special  seat  called  the  Woolsack.

The  members  of  the  House  of  Lords  debate  a  bill  after  it  has  been  passed  by  the  House  of  Commons.  Changes  may  be  recommended,  10  and  agreement  between  the  two  Houses  is  reached  by  negotiations.  The  Lords’  main  power  consists  of  being  able  to  delay  non-flnancial  bills  for  a  period  of  a  year,  but  they  can  also  introduce  certain  types  of  bill.  The  House  of  Lords  is  the  only  non-elected  second  chamber  in  the  parliaments  in  the  world,  and  some  people  in  Britain  would  like  to  abol­ish  it.

The  division  of  Parliament  into  two  Houses  goes  back  over  some  700  years  when  feudal  assembly  ruled  the  country.  In  modern  times,  real  political  power  rests  in  the  elected  House  although  members  of  the  House  of  Lords  still  occupy  important  cabinet  posts.

« ||| »

Comments are closed.