The History of England

from Celts through 20th century


Category: Education

There  are  44  universities  (not  counting  the  Open  University)  in  Britain.  Although  the  Government  is  responsible  for  pro­viding  about  80  per  cent  of  universities’  income  it  does  not  con­trol  their  work  or  teaching  nor  does  it  have  direct  dealings  with  the  universities.  The  grants  are  distributed  by  the  University  Grants  Committee,  a  body  appointed  by  the  Secretary  of  State  for  Education  and  Science.

The  English  universities  are:  Aston  (Birmingham),  Bath,  Bir­mingham,  Bradford,  Bristol,  Brunei  (London),  Cambridge,  City  (London),  Durham,  East  Anglia,  Essex,  Exeter,  Hull,  Keele,  Kent  at  Centerbury,  Lancaster,  Leeds,  Leicester,  Liverpool,  London,  Loughborough,  Manchester,  Newcastle  upon  Tyne,  Nottingham,  Oxford,  Reading,  Salford,  Sheffield,  Southhampton,  Surrey,  Sussex,  Warwick  and  York.  The  federated  University  of  Wales  includes  five  university  colleges,  the  Welsh  National  School  of  Medicine,  and  the  University  of  Wales  Institute  of  Science  and  Technology.  The  Scottish  universities  are: Aberdeen,  Dundee, Edinburgh, Glasgow,  Heriot-Watt  (Edinburgh),  St.  Andrews, Stirling,  and  Strath­clyde  (Glasgow).  In  Northern  Ireland  there  is  Queen’s  University, Belfast,  and  the  New  University  of  Ulster  in  Coleraine.

The  Universities  of  Oxford  and  Cambridge  date  from  the  twelfth  and  thirteenth  centuries  and  the  Scottish  Universities  of  St.  And­rews, Glasgow,  Aberdeen  and  Edinburgh  from  the  fifteenth  and  sixteenth  centuries.  All  the  other  universities  were  founded  in  the  nineteenth  or  twentieth  centuries.

There  are  five  other  institutions  where  the  work  is  of  univer­sity  standard:  the  University  of  Manchester  Institute  of  Science  and  Technology;  the  two  postgraduate  business  schools  which  are  supported  jointly  by  industry  and  the  Government  —  the  Man­chester  Business  School  and  the  London  Graduate  School  of  Busi­ness  Studies,  associated  with  the  London  School  of  Economics  and  the  Imperial  College  of  Science  and  Technology;  Cranfield  Institute  of  Technology  for  mainly  postgraduate  work  in  aeronautics  and  other  subjects;  and  the  Royal  College  of  Art.

Courses  in  arts  and  science  are  offered  by  most  universities.  Imperial  College, London,  the  University  of  Manchester  Institute  of  Science  and  Technology  and  some  of  the  newer  universities  con­centrate  on  technology  although  they  also  offer  a  number  of  courses  in  social  studies,  modern  languages  and  other  non-technological  subjects.  About  45  per  cent  of  full-time  university  students  in  Great  Britain  are  taking  arts  or  socialstudies  courses  and  41  per  cent  science  and  technology:  about  10  per  cent  are  studying  medicine,  dentistry  and  health,  and  the  remainder  agriculture,  forestry,  veterinary  science,  architecture  and  town  and  country  planning.

University  degree  courses  generally  extend  over  three  or  four  years,  though  in  medicine,  dentistry  and  veterinary  science  five  or  six  years  are  required.  The  first  degree  of  Bachelor  (Master  in  the  arts  faculties  of  the  older  Scottish  universities)  is  awarded  on  the  completion  of  such  a  course,  depending  on  satisfactory  examina­tion  results.  Further  study  or  research  is  required  at  the  modern  universities  for  the  degree  of  Master  and  by  all  universities  for  that  of  Doctor.  Actual  degree  titles  vary  according  to  the  practice  of  each  university.  A  uniform  standard  of  degree  throughout  the  country  is  ensured  by  having  external  examiners  on  all  examining  boards.  In  the  last  decades  there  has  been  a  tendency  for  degree  courses  to  become  morr  broadly  based  in  subject  matter,  particularly  jn  the  new  universities.

University  teaching  combines  lectures,  practical  classes  (in  scientific  subjects)  and  small  group  teaching  in  either  seminars  or  tutorials.

Most  members  of  the  academic  staffs  devote  time  to  research  and  at  all  universities  there  are  postgraduate  students  engaged  in  research.


Admission  to  the  universities  is  by  examination  and  selection.  Women  are  admitted  on  equal  terms  with  men  but  at  Cambridge  their  numbers  may  be  limited  by  ordinance.  The  general  proportion  of  men  to  women  students  is  about  three  to  one;  at  Oxford  it  is  over  four  to  one  and  at  Cambridge  seven  to  one.  Over  a  third  of  all  full­time  university  students  in  Britain  are  living  in  colleges  and  halls  of  residence,  slightly  under  a  half  are  in  lodgings,  and  the  remainder  live  at  home.

Despite  recent  expansion  programmes,  applications  for  places  at  universities  for  arts  studies  still  exceed  the  number  available.  Prospective  candidates  for  nearly  all  the  universities  apply  for  places  through  the  Universities  Central  Council  on  Admissions.  The  only  students  who  apply  directly  are  applicants  to  the  Open  University  and  British  candidates  who  apply  only  for  the  university  of Glas­gow,  Aberdeen  and  Strathclyde.

In  1971—72  there  were  about  234,000  full-time  university  stu­dents  in  Great  Britain  including  43,000  postgraduates.  In  1970—71  there  were  some  22,822  part-time  students.  Some  30,000  home  and  overseas  candidates  were  also  registered  in  1972  for  London  Uni­versity’s  external  first  degree  examinations.


In  1970—71  there  were  about  23,000  full-time  university  teach­ers  in  Great  Britain;  about  10  per  cent  of  them  were  professors.  The  ratio  of  staff  to  students  was  about  one  to  eight.


In England,  Wales  and  Scotland  most  adequately  qualified  British  students  can  obtain  awards  from  public  funds  in  order  to  attend  full-time  at  a  university,  college  of  education  of  major  further  education  establishment.  In England  and Wales  local  edu­cation  authorities  provide  awards.  In  Scotland  students’  allowances  for  advanced  courses  are  granted  by  the  Scottish  Education  Depart­ment.  The  amount  of  these  awards  depends  upon  the  income  of  the  student  and  his  parents.  Grants  for  postgraduate  study  are  offered  annually  by  the  Department  of  Education  and  Science,  the  Research  Councils  and  the  Scottish  Education  Department.  In  Northern  Ireland  university  and  further  education  scholarships  are  awarded  by  local  authorities,  and  postgraduate  awards  and  teacher  training  scholarships  by  the  Ministry  of  Education,  the  conditions  of  award  being  the  same  as  those  for  Great  Britain.

(From  Britain  1973:  An  Official  Handbook)

« ||| »

Comments are closed.